FP2’s Sorenson Award Spotlights Excellence in Pavement Preservation

Does your road agency or customer deserve to stand in the spotlight for its pavement preservation program? Give it the opportunity by entering the Sorenson Award competition!

Superior pavement preservation programs are recognized by FP2 Inc.’s James B. Sorenson Award for Excellence in Pavement Preservation.

The Sorenson Award is presented by FP2 Inc. to recognize superior pavement preservation practice, usually to a city, township, county or state agency. The deadline for entries for the year 2018 is June 1, 2019.

Most recently it was presented to Patrick Bierl, design engineer, and Eric Biehl, P.E., asphalt materials engineer, Ohio DOT at an awards luncheon Oct. 13 during the 2016 National Pavement Preservation Conference in Nashville.



Jim Sorenson (1949-2009) was senior construction and system preservation engineer, FHWA Office of Asset Management, and he was a great champion of pavement preservation at the national level.

Jim Sorenson is named an honorary member of ISSA by immediate past president Don Kaiden at the joint AEMA-ARRA-ISSA meeting in Baja California in February 2008

He was born in Montana on July 28, 1949, and received a B.S.C.E. in 1976 from Montana State University at Bozeman, where he had worked as an engineering assistant to the city engineer following four years in the Vietnam War.

Mr. Sorenson worked in several FHWA field and headquarters offices, culminating in his position in the Office of Asset Management, where he traveled the country promoting pavement preservation to state and local road agencies, when he was not leading the effort to fund pavement preservation at the national level.

There he was responsible for technical assistance, policy development, and research guidance in the areas of construction and maintenance operations, transportation system preservation, asset management, and FHWA’s external Quality Management Program.



The pavement preservation industry had no greater friend, and FP2 honors Jim’s memory with the Sorenson Award. Intended to recognize agency pavement preservation, the Sorenson award is usually, but not always, presented to municipal or county road agencies, or state departments of transportation.

At National Pavement Preservation Conference 2016 in Nashville, FP2 president Rod Birdsall, P.E., presents 2016 Sorenson Award to Patrick Bierl, Ohio DOT

To nominate an agency, submit materials to FP2. Please include:

  • A write-up of how the agency gained acceptance and support for its pavement preservation program
  • How long the program has been in existence, any special or unique public awareness actions
  • Press releases relating to the preservation program
  • Name of the contact person in the agency; and
  • Name of the person or firm making the nomination.

Criteria to evaluate candidate agencies include:

  • Process used to gain acceptance by elected officials, general public, employees, and industry (40 percent)
  • How well the program relates to the theme of The Right Treatment, for the Right Road, at the Right Time (20 percent)
  • Tangible improvement in the system (20 percent)
  • Techniques used to keep public notified of what is being done and why (10 percent); and
  • Uniqueness of program (10 percent).


Deadline for entries to the 2018 Sorenson Award is June 1, 2019



For more information, or to submit nominations, please contact FP2’s executive director, Jim Moulthrop, at 8100 West Court, Austin, Tex., 78759, voice (512) 970-8865, e-mail at jimmoulthrop@gmail.com.