• Wednesday, March 11th, 2015

Charleston County, S.C., — featured in this article – is the winner of the 2014 James B. Sorenson Award for Excellence in Pavement Preservation, presented by FP2 Inc. The county will receive the award at the March meeting of the Southeast Pavement Preservation Partnership in Charleston, S.C.

Judges said the county is distinguished by “great use of media, particularly Comcast [cable] TV programming, and web site,” and “mailers, presentations and signage.”

In addition to “effective implementation of its pavement management system,” the county has benefited from an “unusually high number of different technologies successfully introduced in [just] a few years.”

Jim Sorenson (1949-2009) was senior construction and system preservation engineer, FHWA Office of Asset Management, and he was a great champion of pavement preservation at the national level. The pavement preservation industry had no greater friend and it honors his memory with the Sorenson Award.

Intended to recognize agency pavement preservation, the Sorenson award is usually, but not always, presented to city and county agencies. Criteria used to evaluate candidate agencies include: process used to gain acceptance by elected officials, general public, employees, and industry (40 percent); how well the program relates to the theme of The Right Treatment, for the Right Road, at the Right Time (20 percent); tangible improvement in the system (20 percent); techniques used to keep public notified of what is being done and why (10 percent); and uniqueness of program (10 percent).

As a stakeholder in pavement preservation, you are invited to submit your nominees to FP2 Inc. To nominate an agency, please include a brief write-up of how the agency gained acceptance and support for its pavement preservation program; how long the program has been in existence, any special or unique public awareness actions; press releases; the contact person in the agency; and the person or firm making the nomination.

Deadline for 2015 entries is July 1. For more information, or to submit nominations, please contact FP2’s executive director, Jim Moulthrop, at 8100 West Court, Austin, Tex., 78759, voice (512) 970-8865, e-mail at jimmoulthrop@gmail.com.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.